Gear Review: Under Armour Men’s Evo ColdGear Fitted Mock

For winter hiking, my favorite base layer is my Under Armour Men’s Evo ColdGear Fitted Mock. I personally prefer synthetics to wool for my base layers, and in winter the compression fit keeps me warmer than wool. Compression fit is tight fitting, it’s a second skin type of fit, great for layering. In sub-freezing temperatures, I usually find myself wearing it as my base-layer, and having a mid-weight layer that comes on and off depending on the weather; like a fleece jacket of vest. The Coldgear fabric dries incredibly fast, and doesn’t itch like wool does. The fabric is also quite resilient, and it still looks new even after 2 years of wearing. I would recommend the Cold Gear line to anyone looking for a base layer for winter hiking in the north east region.

Key Product info:

A mock turtleneck with a tight compression fit, the UNDER ARMOUR® men’s ColdGear® long-sleeve mock clings close to your body to support your muscles and enhance your circulation. Its dual layer brushed fabric offers the ultimate thermal protection, with a durable nylon outer layer for protection and a brushed inner layer to keep you warm. 30+ UPF protects your skin from sun damage, and anti-odor technology keeps you feeling fresh.

Key Specs:

Fabric Content:63% nylon, 23% polyester, 14% elastane

Leave a Reply

