Trip Report: Mt Guyot Backpack 9/22/2012

Saturday we set out from Zealand road, our destination: Guyot Shelter, just off the Appalachian Trail. I have camped here many times before and always enjoy the hike there, any time spent in the pemigewasset wilderness is a good time. We hiked up the Zealand Trail to Zealand Hut, and continued up to the twinway, then headed south on the Bondcliff Trail, and took the spur path down to the camp.

The forecast called for a chance of late night thunderstorms, and temperatures in the mid 40’s, so I packed some extra layers, but decided to take my 35-degree EMS sleeping bag with a liner instead of my bigger 0-degree bag. I don’t ever get real fancy with my backpacking food, dinner was Mountain House dehydrated chilli-mac, and the normal assortment of snacks, bars, oatmeal and fruit for breakfast and lunch. The hike in was harder than I remembered, with some rough trail with large rocks in some places. Much to my suprise, The Guyot tentsite and shelter were nearly full when we arrived, but we were able to get a spot on a tent platform. It did rain overnight, but I was more than more enough. Sunday we packed up, and decided that we would skip the bonds and just hike out, and just enjoy the views from atop Mt Guyot. We spent a good amount of time on Zeacliff as well. A great weekend and lots of foliage color. Also, I was very impressed with the new bridges constructed on the trail into Zealand Hut.

   

 

Leave a Reply

