Winter Hiking Gear List

This will be my 4th season of winter hiking, and over time my gear preferences have evolved. This is an outline of everything I would have with me for a day hike in the White Mountains during winter time, although some items may be substituted for others. This is not to say you need all of this, or this is a comprehensive list; everyone’s personal preferences are different. I’ve gone through a lot of gear over time, and this is what I’ve kept because it works for me.

A few notes:

Thumb holes are AMAZING

Pit Zips are AMAZING

It takes a while to find what works for you, many stores offer lifetime returns. REI also offers some coupons from time to time. When they do, I try to stock up on items that generally never go on sale elsewhere, like Microspikes.

Clothing

  • Synthetic compression fit long underwear
  • Softshell Pants
  • Under Armor Compression Mock
  • Patagonia R1 Hooded Sweatshirt
  • Mountain Hardwear WindStopper Tech Soft Shell Jacket
  • Stoic eVENT Stash Shell
  • Patagonia NanoPuff full-zip jacket
  • Outdoor Research Rainpants – Full Side Zips
  • Mountain Hardwear Men’s Micro Dome Beanie
  • Dakine Glove Liners
  • Marmot Ski Glove
  • Outdoor Research Men’s Alti Mitts
  • Seirus Innovation Men’s Clava Combo

Traction

  • Kathula Microspikes on a carbiner
  • CAMP Crampons in Crampon bag
  • MSR Evo Denali Ascent Snowshoes

Footwear

  • The North Face Artic Hedgehog boots
  • EMS Gaiters
  • Nylon liner socks
  • Darn Tough Vermont wool socks

Misc

  • Sunblock
  • Sunglasses
  • Ski Goggles
  • Mountain Hardwear Men’s Stretch Rappel Bandana
  • Bag of lighters/Firesteel/Matches/Etc
  • First Aid Kit
  • Thermos
  • Jetboil Flash
  • 2 Naglene bottles in EMS Insulalted Parkas
  • THE NORTH FACE Windstopper Ear Gear Headband
  • Hand warmers
  • Map/Compass/GPS/Headlamp/Batteries
  • Black Diamond ICON Headlamp

Sierra Trading Post: Save 35-70% on Outdoor Gear and Apparel.


CLOSEOUTS . Columbia Sportswear’s Bugaboot winter boots offer the efficient, low-bulk warmth of Thinsulateand#174; insulation and thermal-reflective Omni-Heatand#174; technology that retains body … more info.


CLOSEOUTS . Columbia Sportswear Bugaboot Plus boots feature a waterproof upper and 200g Omni-Heatand#174; insulation in a lightweight package, for maximum protection in cold and snow.

6 thoughts on “Winter Hiking Gear List

    • Good question!
      I’m still new to winter camping and havent selected a 4 season tent. I do plan to carry my Big Agnes 3 Wire eVent Bivy on longer hikes as my emergency gear. I have a Themarest NeoAir All Season pad, and a North Face 0deg snowshoe sleeping bag. If I could do it over again, I would like to own a -15deg, a +15 deg, and a liner for my sleeping bag setups. Other cold weather camping necessities – Mountain Hardwear down booties!

  1. I’ve had mixed sucess witht he jetboil and thier “4 season mix”, but am wishing I had the MSR Reactor.

    My current pack is the Osprey Kestrel 68l, or a MHW 33l for lighter days. Have my eye on a Black Diamond pack but alas, I dont really NEED a 5th pack, or do I?

  2. Heya i am for the primary time here. I came across this board and I
    in finding It truly useful & it helped me out much.
    I hope to give something back and aid others like
    you aided me.

Leave a Reply

