Trip Report: Wolf Hill and Mercer Lookout – Smithfield RI 11-24-2012

I have read about this area many times as it is just in my backyard, but always thought, there’s no such thing as great views in flat Rhode Island. I finally got a chance to get out there and I have to admit, the view is excellent. We could see downtown Providence, as well as into the Fall River, MA area. The trail system to get there is by far the most poorly marked and confusing I have experienced in some time. The only map of the area I could find was this. I also read there was a plane crash there during WW2 but I didn’t find much of anything resembling it, but we weren’t really there looking for that. There are several geocaches in this area.

Distance: 5.26 mi
Time: 2:40:25
Avg Pace: 30:31 min/mi
Avg Speed: 2.0 mph
Elevation Gain: 534 ft

GPS/GPX Track

One thought on “Trip Report: Wolf Hill and Mercer Lookout – Smithfield RI 11-24-2012

  1. this hike comes up a lot in the hiking meetup groups. after your report i may be tempted to join them. i like the idea of a longer (5-mile-plus) hike and as you pointed out, great views are hard to come by in this area!

Leave a Reply

