Gear Review: Marmot Zion Jacket

I’ll admit it, I have a jacket problem. I probably own a dozen different jackets, and I didn’t need any more, but I recently won a contest and the prize was a Marmot Zion Jacket. I’ve been hearing a lot about this item recently, and how its supposedly the perfect winter jacket, soft-shell but windproof and water resistant. I was able to get out and use it this weekend on a winter hike to Mt. Isolation. I was very impressed by it’s windproof capabilities and how very breathable it was. I had several layers on underneath but did not sweat all that much. It does not have pit zips, which is normally a requirement for my technical shells, but the large pockets are high enough to act as them. It is 100% seam-taped and has an attached hood with laminated brim. I found the Polartec NeoShell fabric to very strong and did not notice any tears or snags even after a lengthy bushwhack. This is an excellent jacket and I am looking forward to using it over and over again.


zion


Leave a Reply

