Trip Report – Mount Belknap, NH 1/13/2012

Today I went and took a short hike in the Belknap range to finish off the New Hampshire Fire Tower Quest program. The Overlook trail (orange blazed) follows some cross-country ski trails for a bit before entering the woods and ascending to the col between Belknap Mountain and Gunstock Mountain. It would normally have some really nice views on the way up and from the fire tower on the summit, but it was extremely foggy today.  The Belknap rage is quite enjoyable, and the Belknap Sportsman clubs offers a patch to anyone that hikes to the summit of all 12 peaks on the range. Someday I hope to try this a single day. While plotting out the route, I decided to send a few geocaches to my GPSr in hopes the trail may bring us by some. The one geocache we found was just near the summit, about 1/4 mile off trail. I hadn’t read the description beforehand, so I was quite surprised when after a few minutes of bushwhacking I came across the wreckage of a small passenger plane. More info on the plane crash cane be found here: NTSB information

IMG_0164

227767_10101470824657460_125951108_n

GPS/GPX link

Distance: 7.17 mi
Time: 5:22:03
Avg Pace: 44:54 min/mi
Elevation Gain: 1,710 ft

IMG_0173 IMG_0174 IMG_0175 IMG_0176 IMG_0177 IMG_0178 IMG_0179

 

 

Here is a map I am working on, I combined as many GPS tracks as I could.

belknap map

 

Here is a map with the trail blazing colors – very helpful. Thanks MBP!

BRCCFocusArea

 

3 thoughts on “Trip Report – Mount Belknap, NH 1/13/2012

  1. Pingback: Trip Report: The Belknap Range – Mt. Piper, Mt. Belknap, and Mt. Gunstock | SDIZZY's Outdoor Adventures

    • I would think so, there was a group that finished all the belknaps in one long day I recall. Camping is not “permitted” out there as far as I know, but if you want some company I’d be down for such an adventure

Leave a Reply

