Gear Review: Garmin GPSMAP 60cx

Do you hike in the White Mountains? Do you want GPS tracks for almost every trail, for free?

I use my GPS for almost all my outdoor adventures. When I am hiking, it makes a good fallback/compliment to a map and compass. I also use it to record tracks of my adventures, so I can track my activities throughout the years. If someone wants to go to a place I have been to, I can share the track or lay it over a topo map on the Mytopo.com website for them to work with. I’ve had a number of units over the year, and currently I use the Garmin GPSMAP C60cx. This unit allows me to upload detailed topo maps and import and export tracks and way-points from my laptop. I upload most all of my tracks the the Garmin Connect website, this allows me to easily share my tracks, as well as run reports on my activities, and it stores them online so if I ever have a computer failure, they still exist somewhere.

In addition, when I am planning a new adventure, I often search the internet for others tracks to assist in route planning. You can search for your planned activity with the keywords GPX GPS TRACK ROUTE, and usually come up with something to use. A good resource to use is Wikiloc as well. Sites such as EveryTrail and Trimble Outdoors have a ton of user submitted trips one can browse and download. This link has almost every trail in the White Mountain National Forest as a GPX file!

There are a number of detailed map products you can purchase such as the Garmin TOPO products, or you can look online for free maps. A good site I use is GPSFileDepot, which has a wide variety of maps, some with trail data etc.

There is a site called OpenStreetMap that allows you to get some map data free for garmin products.

If you don’t have the money or need for a full on GPS receiver, you can utilize your smartphone as well, my favorite app is MyTracks.


Garmin Foretrex 301 GPS

The streamlined Garmin Foretrex 301 GPS sports a powerful new high-sensitivity receiver and a smaller design than its predecessor for easy wrist-top navigation.


Garmin GPSMAP 62stc GPS

The robust Garmin GPSMAP 62stc offers all the features of the GPSMAP 62sc, plus preloaded TOPO 100K mapping.


Garmin Montana 650t GPS

The waterproof Garmin Montana 650t GPS is big, versatile and tough. It features a large touch-screen display , preloaded TOPO U.S. 100K maps and a 5-megapixel camera.


Garmin Oregon 450 GPS

With a 3-axis compass, enhanced display, incredible map presentation and geocache gaming and a vivid display, the Garmin Oregon 450 delivers a versatile and fun GPS experience.


Garmin Oregon 450t GPS

With a 3-axis compass, enhanced display, touchscreen interface, spectacular trail mapping and geocaching, the Garmin Oregon 450t offers a fun and easy GPS experience.


Garmin eTrex 10 GPS

The compact Garmin eTrex 10 GPS gives you quick and easy GPS functionality at a great value. It’s perfect for geocaching and hiking.


Garmin eTrex 20 GPS

The Garmin eTrex 20 GPS features an full-color display, expandable memory and geochaching to offer a fun and easy GPS experience for outdoor enthusiasts.


Garmin eTrex 20 Topo GPS Bundle

The Garmin eTrex 20 Topo GPS bundle combines the eTrex 20 GPS with a TOPO U.S. 100K preprogrammed card, case and PC cable.


Garmin eTrex 30 GPS

With a 3-axis compass, full-color display and geocaching, the compact Garmin eTrex 30 offers a fun and easy GPS experience for outdoor enthusiasts.


Garmin eTrex 30 Topo GPS Bundle

The Garmin eTrex 30 Topo GPS bundle combines the user-friendly eTrex 30 with TOPO U.S. 100K mapping, 1-year BirdsEye subscription and a handy carrying case.

3 thoughts on “Gear Review: Garmin GPSMAP 60cx

Leave a Reply

