Preparing for a Pemi Loop – 3 Days of Backpacking in the Pemigewasset Wilderness

I’ll be doing a 3 day long, ~33 mile backpacking trip (known as a Pemi Loop) over Memorial Day weekend, and I started planning today. I am pleased to say my pack weight has gone down quite a bit, although I dont always buy gear with weight in mind. Over time I have become more aware on what I need to bring, what I want to bring, and what I bring home that never was used on the trails. I’m sure more items will come along, but I think I am off to a good start.

3daypemi


Under Armour’s performance mesh underwear-the UA Mesh Boxerjock(R) boxer briefs-deliver maximum ventilation and breathability. All the benefits of UA’s original performance underwear, but with an … more info.

7 thoughts on “Preparing for a Pemi Loop – 3 Days of Backpacking in the Pemigewasset Wilderness

  1. Nice list.

    It’s interesting to me to see some of your choices, and to consider how and why they differ from what I would take or have taken. Like you, I would bring multiple copies of identical socks and underwear, but I would never bring identical shirts. I’d probably choose to bring the lightest weight shirt possible, and one a little thicker, so I can wear one, the other, or both, depending on temperature. And unless it’s an exceptionally stinky material, like wicking technical fabrics from 5+ years ago, it’s not too bad to wear the same shirt repeatedly. I have a lot of older patagonia shirts that are unbearably smelly after a few hours in the office, let alone on trail, and obviously they wouldn’t work out with that strategy. I think I’m also stingier than you with socks- I probably would just alternate between two pairs of socks. But fresh socks aren’t just a matter of smell, so if your feet need fresh socks to feel ok in your boots, then that’s what you have to give them.

    On the other hand, I can’t imagine using a 35° sleeping bag. I think I happily used a 15° bag in the pemi over memorial day a few years ago. I guess most people’s comfort level would be somewhere in between.

    I’ve almost never thought to bring purell, but it’s probably a good idea.

    What about thin hat, thin gloves? I remember being incredibly cold when it was windy in the exposed areas and on the Twinway over Memorial Day weekend. And in this case, it wasn’t just me. Everybody in our group huddled in the shelter of rocks and put on all the clothes they had when we were on top of S. Twin.

    • Good point about the shirts. Will decide more on clothing when a forecast is available when dates get closer. Lots of socks is a luxury thing for me. Hat and gloves need to be added!

Leave a Reply

