Trip Report: Mount Tecumseh 9/15/2013

Sunday we decided to head out to Mount Tecumseh, and I was less than excited. I’ve been there in winter, I’ve been there in Autumn, its just not a very fun hike, but it’s a good hike for a short Sunday, and my carpool buddies hadn’t been there yet. We drove out to the ski area and headed up the Mount Tecumseh trail. I didn’t recall the great stone steps from last time, probably because they were covered in snow. After a short while we made it to the summit loop, and continued counter-clockwise. What I wasn’t expecting at the summit, was this view! Apparently someone came up and went to town with a chain saw. I’m not sure how I feel about this, it certainly is against the Leave No Trace principles, but on the other hand, its a fantastic view.

 

On the way down we split up and a few of us took the Sosman Trail, to change things up. I really enjoyed this bit of trail and it dumped us out by the top of the ski area. From there we followed some ski trails and access roads back to the car. I can honestly say, Tecumseh no longer sucks.

Time: 3:59:10
Moving Time: 2:35:42
Elapsed Time: 3:59:10
Avg Speed: 1.4 mph
Avg Moving Speed: 2.1 mph
Max Speed: 17.6 mph
Avg Pace: 43:41 min/mi
Avg Moving Pace: 28:26 min/mi
Best Pace: 3:24 min/mi

GPS/GPX Track

tec1 tec2 tec3

Leave a Reply

